Author Topic: "Silver" flakes floating in my latest batch  (Read 503 times)

rixmixnfix

"Silver" flakes floating in my latest batch
« on: August 03, 2021, 08:26:10 AM »
 I have been making 5-6ppm Colloidal Silver successfully for many years thanks to the advice given in this forum. HP CC power supply @ 14 vdc and 5-6 ma for 1 hr in 1 L of DW with A&H washing powder and capping with Karo. Never get a cold or flu using this internally.
 I recently melted my anode with my blowtorch, so replaced with a new 10 ga. wire I purchased from a jeweler who assured me it was pure silver. After the batch was finished, there were small shiny flakes floating in it. Never saw this before.
 Any advice?
Thank you,
Rick

Offline cfnisbet

• Administrator
  • Participant
Re: "Silver" flakes floating in my latest batch
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2021, 09:06:49 PM »
The flakes are almost certainly pieces of silver oxide that can take the appearance of flakes. Possibly they may also be flakes of metallic silver. They are a sign of current that is too high or insufficient electrolyte.

I would suggest you reduce the current (amperage) and use hot distilled water. Taking things slower and starting with fresh chemicals might be a good stating point.

rixmixnfix

« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2021, 09:20:26 PM »
Thanks for your reply.
 Let me describe my procedure in more detail. I start with cold (room temp) distilled H2O in a 1 L beaker on a hot/stir plate. Insert the electrodes and stir bar, stir and turn on the PS and add electrolyte while monitoring the voltage/ current until I get 14vdc at 5 ma.. I set the voltage with electrode spacing and current with electrolyte amount. After 30 min. I turn on the heat and after 1 Hr. turn off the power and carefully remove the electrodes so as to not shake off any oxide. Then I add 4 drops of  50/50 Karo/DW, turn up the stir speed and heat to 190 F. Cool, bottle, inspect for clarity and store for use.