Author Topic: sodium carbonate taste  (Read 696 times)

Offline dimoune

• Expert
  • Participant
sodium carbonate taste
« on: April 15, 2020, 02:38:11 PM »
Hello all,

I make fine 20 ppm colloidal silver but the problem I encounter is with the sodium carbonate electrolyte. It has a soapy taste. I use no more than 1M per liter. The sodium carbonate I prepared myself by baking sodium bicarbonate in the oven.

Today I made a test and mix 108 mg of my sodium carbonate in 1 liter of plain water and I could feel the soapy taste and burning caustic soda taste in my mouth.
« Last Edit: April 15, 2020, 04:27:26 PM by dimoune »

RedDogJT

Re: sodium carbonate taste
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2020, 05:20:49 PM »
 ???Interesting comment.  I'm a newbie here also, but I purchased a food grade version of Sodium Carbonate, and made my first batch of 20ppm, Karo reduced and capped silver.  As stated in all these wonderful articles here, it should have no taste, and mine did not. Thankfully.  I hope you figure this out.

Offline dimoune

• Expert
  • Participant
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2020, 06:01:29 PM »
In 12 years on this forum, you are the first to claim this.  I have to suspect you grossly misweighed the sodium carbonate.

I use a jeweler scale to measure the sodium carbonate and it shows 0.11 gm and I mix it in 1 liter of plain water. It is a tiny amount.

Offline dimoune

• Expert
  • Participant
« Reply #3 on: April 15, 2020, 07:26:36 PM »
Was it distilled water?

No the test was not with distilled water though, but I have similar soapy taste when I make my Colloidal Silver with steam distilled water. This is why I wanted to test directly the taste of the electrolyte when I mix with plain water to rule out any possible causes.

Could it be that people on the forum make higher ppm Colloidal Silver and when they dilute it down to 20 ppm it cuts the soapy and caustic taste?

Offline dimoune

• Expert
  • Participant
« Reply #4 on: April 15, 2020, 07:46:42 PM »